Halfway There in Speech Class!

February 16, 2011 at 8:53 am 2 comments

Last week I gave my second speech which had to be informative. At first I was worried what to talk about and if the audience would enjoy what I would inform them about. I chose to teach the audience about Autism and what it really is and various things about this disorder. I wanted to talk about autism because I plan to major in special education and it would be helpful and interesting to me. I rehearsed my speech several times and was worried when I found out it took me thirteen minutes. I ended up having to streamline it down but I still got my main points across and the speech went well. I am a little less nervous about getting up in front of everyone but there are always nerves that do not seem to go away.

I have ideas for my demonstration speech that show a passion of mine and that the majority of the audience will not know about but hopefully will enjoy it. I never thought I would survive giving speeches in front of people and I am halfway there and I am doing very well I think. My classmates have given different speeches and I have learned a lot from listening to them. This class helps me to understand that each of us are unique and have had different experiences and have very different emotions. I just want to say to everyone that they are doing a very good job and we are experiencing this nerve racking process of getting up in front of everyone and presenting our thoughts and feelings within each speech that we do together and that is a very big accomplishment. So with this hopefully I can bring forth to the audience  my passion and hobby of mine in the next speech and persuade them to see my viewpoint on a particular subject in the last speech.

 

Lindsay

Entry filed under: informative speech, public speaking, Public Speaking Evaluation, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

My informative speech Valentine’s Day Speech

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ally  |  February 21, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    Your speech was great! You did a good job of informing all of us in the class and it was very interesting. Can’t wait to hear your demonstration speech!

    Reply
  • 2. Leeza Rickey  |  February 21, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    your speech was very informative because it taught me alot about the disorder and how much it can really affect people. i think your speech would change peoples mind about the disorder because you changed mine. great job, looking forward to your demonstration speech.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,714 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

