¡Informative Speeches!

February 17, 2011 at 8:36 am Leave a comment

Ok, so I finally got through my informative speech but I was sooo nervous. I could feel my heart beating faster and faster as I approached the front of the room. I began my introduction and the weight off my shoulders let up. I could still feel my voice being a little shaky though. While I was talking it felt as though I was going through it too fast and before you know it, I was done! Candee said it was long enough and that I did great which was a shocker because I felt so nervous and I think I even jumbled a couple words. When I sat down a few other classmates congratulated me and said I did a good job which made me feel really good. I’m beginning to not feel so scared when I go to do a speech now and this is a big accomplishment for me! Thanks guys.

There were so many great speeches. Some funny, some interesting and some really moving /emotional but all really great! I also liked the visual aids some people used. There were videos, posters, slide shows and even shoes! On the speech about football, Booker drew on the board to explain how it was played. One video that was totally hilarious was the one Sheri had on communication. There was a slide show about teenage pregnancy that was rather sad. And a speech that I think got to us all was the one about divorce. (It’s ok, hang in there girl.) There was a speech about water bottles and how they hurt the environment which was really interesting. Makes me want to start recycling now! Trish informed us about the history of Valentine’s Day. Jared talked about the history of the US which surprised me that George Washington was not the first president! And one that I really liked because I can relate to it was the speech Melissa gave about Lasik eye surgery. I have been wanting to do that but I never knew if it was worth it. She had it done and she can see now!

-Sheila

Entry filed under: Experience & public speaking, Fear & public speaking, informative speech, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Evaluation, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics, Uncategorized.

Today’s Special: Info on Rye :) Maybe not so informative but touching

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,535 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

