My Informative Speech

February 17, 2011 at 9:52 am 4 comments

Though I was hesitant to even do my speech Monday, I forced to upon the request of the teacher and at risk of failing the class.  I knew it was my turn next after Jeanna.  Of course, she had a moving a speech and I could not get even close to that.  I had to try though.

My speech was about Down Syndrome.  I had a difficult time coming up with a topic, but my mom was 45 when she had me and there was a 1 in 20 chance of me being Down Syndrome.  I thought it was a good topic that hit home.  My mother has a cousin of the same age that had a Down Syndrome child.  I thought it was a good idea because many people down upon Down Syndrome as if it was a contagious disease.  It isn’t, though.  Cases can be mild to severe, but they are all looked down upon.  Breast cancer and STDs are major topics nowadays.  Why not Down Syndrome?  Maybe a scientist could find a cure for Down Syndrome.  It is just automatically ruled out for some strange reason.

I thought my speech went pretty well.  I stumbled over a lot of words and I have no idea if I even made all of my points.  It didn’t exactly help that the teacher has a daughter with Down syndrome.   It put a little pressure on the speech.  Nonetheless, I made it through the speech in the correct amount of time and without having a heart attack.  I like to think that I made some good points so that people could understand what the syndrome is.  It isn’t contagious nor is it scary.  These people will be the first to get to Heaven, and more of the public need to realize that.

Jenna

Entry filed under: informative speech, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Maybe not so informative but touching Panther Shake

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Melinda  |  February 18, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    I thought you had a really interesting topic, and I definely learned some things that I didn’t know. You did a great job!

    Melinda

    Reply
  • 2. rous8883  |  February 28, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    I thought that you done really well and i enjoyed your speech 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. colecj  |  March 14, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    it’s an interesting topic, it really makes you think about the everyday norm for people, it even extends to the types of diseases we concern ourselves with.

    Reply
  • 4. colecj  |  March 14, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    it’s a thought provoking topic, it really makes you think about the everyday norm for people, it even extends to the types of diseases we concern ourselves with.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,474 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

