Panther Shake

February 17, 2011 at 1:39 pm 2 comments

After reading the comment cards from the informal speech, many of you found it interesting how I came to shake hands, or paws, with a black panther. So I thought I’d explain more of how it came about.

On weekends, I would volunteer my time to help out on a wild animal rescue zoo outside of San Antonio, Texas. This one particular weekend I was building a cat house, similar to giant dog house. I was building it next to the cage that temporarily held 3 black panthers. As I was working on the construction of the new house for the panthers, I kept noticing that one of the panthers was eyeballing me the whole time I was there. The stare made me feel uncomfortable, like I was a big piece of meat that he really wanted to chew on. This went on stare went on for about two hours as I continued to work. Now, Texas is very hot during July, so I was working without my shirt on, and I had it laid on the ground next to me. When I stopped for a break to get some water, I went over to pick up my shirt and put it back on. I noticed as I was putting my shirt back on, that the cat was starring straight at my feet. As I finished putting on the shirt, within a blink of a second the cat had pounced from its position, stretched its arm through the bars of it’s cage, and managed to grab a hold of my shirt on the left shoulder, trying to pull me nearer to him. I quickly grabbed its paw and shook it until my shirt ripped and released its grab on me. I stumbled a few steps back and found myself with a ripped shirt. Somehow, that cat knew exactly how close I needed to be, after watching me work all morning, to be able to stretch out and grab a hold of me. Luckily, the cat could only grab my shirt and not my shoulder itself. And, also luckily, at the time I had a great six-pack, so I continued the day without a shirt.

Thomas

Entry filed under: public speaking, Speech Topics, storytelling, Uncategorized.

My Informative Speech I wasn’t as nervous this time

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. brittanycarroll  |  February 22, 2011 at 2:52 pm

    Thats a really interesting story. You seem to have lived an amazing life filled with wonderful adventures.. Thanks for the discriptive paragraph about your shirt being ripped and you six pack. That was hot and very interesting to read.

    Reply
  • 2. shaylinmcdaniels  |  March 19, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    I enjoyed hearing all your adventures and some of the experiences you’ve had. I’m glad you shared them with us, it was really interesting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,529 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

