Wolves

February 24, 2011 at 1:52 pm 8 comments

For my informative speech, I talked about the types of wolves, which are the Arctic wolves and Timber wolves. I also talked about their close relatives. Their relatives are German Shepherds, huskies, labs, etc.

My goal was to inform everyone why I have loved wolves all my life. I think I got through my audience as I spoke more about wolves. I’ve heard all my life, “you’re obsessed with wolves.” Well, this statement is very un-true. I just love wolves like a family loves each other. As a child, I always wanted to buy anything ‘wolf’. Unfortunately, as a child, many wolf related items were not taken care of, which resulted in a lot of items being broken. Now, I wish I had taken care of them, because they had a lot of sentimental meaning.

For a little while, after everyone had “talked” about how I was “obsessed” with wolves, I was a little ashamed to even talk about them, let alone wear my favorite t-shirts. I always worried about what others thought of me. But now, I could care less. All I need in my life is my family and the ones who love me, for me.

To tell everyone the truth, I’m really glad to have taken Speech class. I have gained so much more confidence. It also has enhanced my speaking skills, which I thought I was pretty advanced in that area. But, everyone in this class are excellent speakers. Even walking into that class, you may not be great at it, but by the end of the quarter, you WILL be better. (especially if you take it with Candee) ; )  — I should have had a power point slide show like I did today for my demonstrative speech. It would have made it a lot better. But, I felt like I have made up for it.

Everyone, you do a great job. I really hope everyone sees how this class helps you, not just for a degree, but for yourself! I also hope everyone knows why I love wolves and that it’s not an obsession, it’s something that has been part of me for as long as I can remember. They mean a lot to me. They always will too. I also hope you enjoyed the wolf drawing. : )

—Ashley Freeland

Entry filed under: Demonstration Speech, informative speech, public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics.

Informative Speech The J-bar

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lindsay  |  February 28, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    I think you have done a great job. Like you told me don’t worry about what everyonelse thinks if its something you love and care about that is all that matters. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. destini12  |  March 9, 2011 at 11:06 am

    Ashley, great job on this speech.
    You know a lot about wolves and you chose a topic that was good for you.
    Nice job! =]

    Reply
  • 3. Carrie  |  March 9, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    I agree! Although I also believed myself to be a fairly confident speaker (thanks to theatre) but I have definitely learned in this class how to not only become a BETTER speaker but also a lot more confident in general.

    Reply
  • 4. wavewithgod209  |  March 9, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    i think you did a great job and i love to draw. and to know how to imporve my skills that made me very happy.

    Reply
  • 5. alainaholbrook  |  March 11, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    I really feel like you do a great job on your speeches because you talked about what you are passionate about and love. This makes the speech a lot better when you get excited about what your talking about because the audience gains that feeling too. Good Job!

    Reply
  • 6. drewd34  |  March 15, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    You did a good job on choosing a topic that you are familier with because you love wolves. I actually learned a lot from your speech, it was awesome

    Reply
  • 7. afreeland2011  |  March 16, 2011 at 12:00 am

    Thank you guys so much! this is the first itime ‘ve been on here in a while!

    Reply
  • 8. afreeland2011  |  March 16, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    To telll you guys the truth, I don’t know how to comment! but, I do know I will miss this class. You guys are very supportive and i am sad we’re aLL graduating : ( I will figure this out some how!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,529 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

