The J-bar

February 24, 2011 at 5:24 pm 2 comments

For my informative speech I talked about a  j-bar that goes on the rear end of the dirt track race cars. To some of the people it must have been pretty confusing because that is just not something that everybody knows about or is even interested in. I tried to explain everything the best I could but I’m sure there are still a lot of questions about the j-bar or the rear end or suspension on the race cars.

If I could have found a video actually showing how the j-bar works and how the suspension reacts and how the car reacts while on and off the gas I’m sure it might have helped some people understand what I was talking about since you could actually see what was happening. I could have brought in more stuff about the race car such as different bars or shocks and springs and maybe that could have helped more people understand the cars.

I understand it so much because I have been around them forever, well since I was about 3. My dad is actually the one who started our family’s race car, and it was on accident. His friend said he had a race car for sale and my dad said he would trade him his truck for the race car because my dad thought it was a drag car. Well later that day when we went and picked it up, he was in for a surprise. but he decided to keep it anyways and we started in dirt track racing. Still to this day, 15 years later, we have that car sitting by the garage where we built it for the very first time. I hope to someday get it out and restore it with my dad just how my brother and I built the modified that he drives now by ourselves. Then my brother can drive the old car, and I can drive the new modified.

Dylan Mullen

Entry filed under: informative speech, public speaking, Public Speaking Evaluation, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Wolves I Have Gained Confidence

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. afreeland2011  |  March 16, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    This was posted 2 days before your birthday : ) awww – well, you made it through the class! I feel like we’ve both learned a lot. You won’t regret this class : )

    Reply
  • 2. robert  |  March 20, 2011 at 7:17 pm

    well you know more about cars than i do. its pretty good when you can make a speech out of one little peice off a race car. good speech

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,474 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

