Piano Demonstration Anyone?

February 27, 2011 at 6:38 pm 8 comments

I am glad that I chose to do my demonstration speech on how to play a scale and some chords in the key of C.  I felt that it was a topic about which I had a thorough knowledge.  I felt comfortable giving the presentation and I hope that everyone else felt relaxed while I was giving it.  I was satisfied with the positive feedback that I received.

Some did say that I moved a little too fast.  That was one thing that I was afraid of when I was demonstrating.  Sometimes it is hard when you are trying to explain a pretty in-depth, technical topic in a short amount of time.  If I could do it over, I would have explained the musical terms that I used better and moved at a little bit slower of a pace.

Speech class is continuing to teach me that public speaking really is a conversation rather than a performance.  Even though the audience does not say much in return, they should still feel engaged with what you are saying and feel like they could easily converse with you about it if they decided they wanted to do so.  This ties back into my demonstration speech because I tried to be as relaxed and understandable as possible; looking at it more as a chance for me to teach rather than just be heard.

So, my demonstration speech is now over.  I hope that everyone took something from it and that I did not bore everyone too much. haha. I also hope that I inspired at least one person to learn how to play the piano! My biggest fear now is…getting through my persuasive speech. Now THAT should be interesting.

 

Kendra

Entry filed under: Demonstration Speech, Experience & public speaking, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics, Uncategorized.

Secrets of Walt Disney World Demonstration Speech

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lindsay  |  February 28, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    I thought you did a nice job. It was interesting to know a little about piano because I have never played an instrument and if I had to choose an instrment to play I would definitely choose piano.

    Reply
    • 2. Kendra  |  March 21, 2011 at 10:55 am

      I’m glad you liked it, Lindsay, and piano would definitely be a good instrument choice! But I may be a bit biased. haha. 😉

      Reply
  • 3. ally  |  March 1, 2011 at 12:36 am

    I used to play the piano and I forget a lot about it, so I really enjoyed your speech! You did a great job!

    Reply
    • 4. Kendra  |  March 21, 2011 at 10:55 am

      Thank you Ally!

      Reply
  • 5. shup7  |  March 1, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    I thought you did a really good job! I used to play piano when I was younger and I would love to take it up again because I just love listening to other people play! All in all you did a great job!!

    Reply
    • 6. Kendra  |  March 21, 2011 at 10:56 am

      Thank you so much! You should definitely take it up again!

      Reply
  • 7. nicholeerrington  |  March 17, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    i really enjoyed the piano demo. i have always wanted to learn how to play but have never taken the time. the piano is such a beautiful instrument and such beautiful music comes from it. you are blessed with a great talent.

    Reply
    • 8. Kendra  |  March 21, 2011 at 10:59 am

      Thanks Nichole, I am so glad that you liked the demonstration. And, I agree, the piano is so beautiful and I really think you should give it a shot. It’s a little hard to get started but once you get the hang of it it’s a lot of fun. 🙂 I also wanted to say that I loved your persuasive speech. It really touched me and thank you so much for sharing that with the class; I’m sure it was hard for you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,474 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

