Edible Play-dough!!!!

March 2, 2011 at 3:28 pm 11 comments

For my last speech I told how you would make edible play-dough!  I just thought it would be a fun demonstration to share because I know that a lot of teenagers baby-sit and some of the adults in our class have children so I thought what would be better than to give them people a way to involve their kids in a very fun activity!

I enjoyed this demonstration speech because it was a lot of fun and you could eat it which made it 10 times better!  I always remember playing with play-dough at my grandparents house when I was younger, but you only got so much you weren’t allowed to mix your colors and $5.oo for a handful of play-dough is outrageous to me!  So this way I had more freedom to do what I wanted mix what I wanted and just have fun!  I don’t however think I did as well on this speech as I could have I was still a little nervous and trying to talk while doing making something is kind of hard but my next speech can only get better I hope!

The Recipe for the edible play-dough I made is

1 cup of powdered or dried milk

1/2 cup of peanut butter

1/2 cup of honey

Mix all these ingredients together in a bowl either using a spoon or your hands.(The food coloring is optional)

Kate

Entry filed under: Demonstration Speech, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics, storytelling, Uncategorized.

Demo on researching stocks Oh, The Places I’ll Go

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ally  |  March 2, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    Kate, you did great! haha. It was fun to play with and yummy. Something kids would definitely have fun with.

    Reply
  • 2. ambermariepayne08  |  March 3, 2011 at 12:40 am

    I wish I was in your class so I could have watched this!

    Reply
  • 3. shup7  |  March 5, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    Thanks Ally I had a lot of fun doing it! The kids I watch like doing it too!!! lol
    Amber it was pretty cool..lol

    Reply
  • 4. destini12  |  March 9, 2011 at 10:58 am

    You did a great job!
    The play- dough looked a little funny but it really didn’t taste that bad. you’re right about it being a good activity for younger kids!
    Nice job! =]

    Reply
  • 5. Carrie  |  March 9, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    I thought that the playdough tasted a lil funny to me, but for the mostpart it was a really neat idea to try with the kids! I’m always looking for new things to try when babysitting and this kinda fits into the peanut butter “taffy” kind of fun!
    Oh and for all who have kids who like eating their activities… Peanut butter taffy is made by first putting butter all over your hands, take a regular sized marshmallow, make a slice and stuff a slab of PB in it and start mushing and pulling and kneading until it becomes like taffy. Takes forever but, like the edible playdough, it’s a fun edible activity!

    Reply
  • 6. paul  |  March 9, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    i love the whole idea on how to make play-dough that you can eat. of course i was not there that day to see the speech but i looked over your speech here on your page and it sounds like a great thing to do just for the heck of it.

    Reply
  • 7. shup7  |  March 10, 2011 at 12:06 pm

    Thanks everybody I had a good time doing it!

    Reply
  • 8. cheynbuck  |  March 10, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    I loved this speech it is a fun activity to do. I have a lot of nephews and nieces and this is something I would like to try with them.

    Reply
  • 9. alainaholbrook  |  March 11, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    I am defiantly going to try this with my little cousins sometime! it looks super fun for kids to try!

    Reply
  • 10. Lindsay  |  March 14, 2011 at 11:57 am

    You had an awesome and interesting demo.You brought something very unique to all of us and thats what it is all about.

    Reply
  • 11. shup7  |  March 16, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    Thanks Alaina and Lindsay I had fun doing it:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,746 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

