How to prepare a Demonstration Speech

March 7, 2011 at 11:32 am 3 comments

So I know it has been quite a while since my last post, and I fully promise not to go on about speech’s correlation to theatre… well, maybe just a pinch.  So in our class over the last few weeks we have managed to cover our Informative and Demonstrative speeches.  I can say I was actually genuinely pleased with both of these speeches. 

For my demonstration I was able to brush aside the theatrics for a while and choose a topic that the audience enjoyed: rabbits.  I am a 4-Her who has shown rabbits for 7 years now, and I also have a breeding business, but you can only imagine the number of “aaaaaawwwwws” I heard when I brought in one of my prized Dutch.  My speech was to teach the audience how to show a rabbit.  Basically I chose a topic I am not only very familiar with but have been teaching the same demonstration to younger exhibitors for years.  I will admit that when demonstrating such a broad topic it was too easy to make my speech sometimes sound like an informative speech with all of the examples and explaining I had to give.  So while my points were solid I felt that I could have improved the process aspect of it a bit.

I have noticed that while it is very fun to give a demonstrative speech, it is actually not as simple as it seems to layout.  When planning to give a demonstrative speech it is critical that you know what it is that you are going to demonstrate.  If you have a topic that has a lot of explaining with it, be sure that you have cleanly placed the steps or processes into specific points.  For instance my first point was what is required of the owner in caring for the rabbit prior to show.  My next point was then my actual demonstration where I used my rabbit to demonstrate how to perform showmanship.  Then my final point was actually giving examples to the audience of what is required of the exhibitor by means of knowledge of rabbits. This is merely an example, but as the speaker you can make your points your process or your process may be a part of your points!  Just always be sure that your points are clear, flow easily, and of course correlate to the central topic.

Carrie

Entry filed under: Demonstration Speech, Experience & public speaking, informative speech, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Evaluation, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics, Uncategorized.

Skyline Dip Happy Little Trees

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Thomas  |  March 10, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    I enjoyed your speech on the rabbits and 4-H. It reminded me of the pet rabbit that I had as a kid, blackie. She was a fluffy black rabbit, unsure of what type exactly.

    Reply
  • 2. ally  |  March 11, 2011 at 1:25 am

    You did great on your demonstration speech! I didn’t realize how much work went in to showing a rabbit. And he was so cute!

    Reply
  • 3. alainaholbrook  |  March 11, 2011 at 1:57 pm

    Your speech was really good! I bet you were glad your bunny was playing along with it instead of fighting you lol i know what its like to show animals and how much work goes into it. Great Job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,474 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

