Informative Speech on Divorce

March 7, 2011 at 9:59 pm 3 comments

Taking about my parents divorce is one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do. The pain and anger about what happened to me whenever I was seven years old, still exists in my heart and my life. I don’t think I can ever figure my dad for tearing apart my family the way that he did. I chose to do this speech because, I wanted other people in the class to understand how major it is to decide to settle down with someone and start a family. You should not have kids with someone who you don’t see yourself being with in 10 years. In the long run, it puts the kids through hell.

I have to admit that I would not be the person I am today if it was not for my parents getting a divorce, they made me the strongest teenager by making the decision to split up. But, at the same time, they made my life an emotional rollercoaster that will never stop. They put me through stuff that a child should never have to do through. Stuff that I could never do to my own kids or even imagine having to watch another kid go through. I feel their pain and I completely understand what they are going through. The emotional pain of this subject gets to me, and it really did in front of the entire class whenever I was trying to present this speech. Although I did cry, I really hope that it showed the people in the class how important deciding to have children without considering the kids first really is. So, the thing I was trying to inform people of was the fact that in the end, the kids come first! Do your very best to have kids with someone you plan on staying with and you can see yourself growing old with. Every couple has problems, I understand that, but, once you have kids, make it work for them. Please!

A thing that I personally learned from this speech was the support that I receive from my classmates. They understood how close this topic was to my heart and respected the fact that it was a hard thing for me to talk about. I got positive comments from all of them & it really helped me realize how great all of the people in my class are.

Jeanna.

Entry filed under: Experience & public speaking, informative speech, Listening, Meaning, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics, Uncategorized. Tags: .

Time Sure Does Fly By :( PLAY-DOH

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. o0jenna0o  |  March 9, 2011 at 11:24 am

    your speech was moving and brave. thanks so much for sharing. it was beautiful

    Reply
  • 2. Thomas  |  March 10, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    I thought your speech was very good and personal. I agree with you on the fact that people need to really take the time to know the other person before getting married, and really be honest with theirselves if they want to spend the rest of their lives with them. Sometimes being honest with yourself is hard, but much needed.

    Reply
  • 3. wigg9389  |  March 17, 2011 at 8:40 am

    Good Job on this speech Jeanna:) it takes alot of courage to talk about your personal life.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,519 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

