What did I learn? Let Me Show You.

March 9, 2011 at 3:37 pm 12 comments

Today we were told to bring in a visual reflection of our speech class. Candee asked us to find a way to express what we have learned in the class by using something other than words. I knew a lot of people would do poster boards, but I wanted to be a little more creative. I brought in a fake flower that I won at Eastgate Adventures, I put it in a flower-pot that I had at my house. For support I took tissue paper and stuffed it around the bottom, this always added color. The flower was to demonstrate how I’ve grown and blossomed as a speaker.

Next, I put earrings on two of the petals and wrapped a charm bracelet around the stem. The earrings were to show how I’ve become a better listener. The charm bracelet had keys on it to show that I found the “key to my voice”, I also put an actual key in the pot to demonstrate the same thing. I placed a star flashlight in the pot as well to show that I feel more confident in front of the class and I feel a shine up  there now. The hearts on the keys and earrings are to demonstrate how much I love this class!

-Destini

Entry filed under: confidence & public speaking, Experience & public speaking, Meaning, public speaking, Public Speaking Evaluation, Reflecting on Experience.

Visual Reflection Informative Speech

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carrie  |  March 9, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    Destini I thought this was just ADORABLE!!! Very creative and completely fits your personality! lol Oh! just an FYI, after your demonstrative speech I totally took in a lot of those makeup tidbits! Gotta say they improved my morning routine! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. paul  |  March 9, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    you were very great today. and the art work was so cute and had its own meaning and thats all mattered.

    Reply
    • 3. paul  |  March 9, 2011 at 10:06 pm

      if you learnt something in the end and plane on using in the outside world thats also that matters.

      Reply
  • 4. natashak2011  |  March 9, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    Your visual was really cute & creative, I definitely liked it! You got your flower at Eastgate Adventures? That place is pretty fun! I’ve went there a couple of times. Haha, it’s like a Chuck-E-Cheese’s for older kids.

    Reply
  • 5. cheynbuck  |  March 10, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    I thought that your visual was very creative an unique. It was a visual that could only be yours.

    Reply
  • 6. ally  |  March 11, 2011 at 1:23 am

    I loved your visual reflection! It was so cute and the meaning of it was cool too.

    Reply
  • 7. alainaholbrook  |  March 11, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    This was too cute!! lol i loved it i thought it was very creative! The meaning went right along with what we learned in class. Good Job!

    Reply
  • 8. reganelizabeth11  |  March 14, 2011 at 10:34 am

    Your visual was very creative! I loved the meaning behind all of the little things around the flower, good job!

    Reply
  • 9. Lindsay  |  March 14, 2011 at 11:54 am

    Your visual was so cute. Speech has really taught me a lot because I am a very shy person and found a lot of good qualities in myself as well.

    Reply
  • 10. drewd34  |  March 15, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    Your visual was awesome Destini. Never would have thought of that. I like how you put the earrings and stuff on it. You have blossomed into a pretty little flower.

    Reply
    • 11. destini12  |  March 17, 2011 at 11:27 am

      Drew, You’re a dork! but thanks for all the compliments everyone. Glad I could help Carrie!

      Reply
  • 12. nicholeerrington  |  March 17, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    love the flower!
    good reflection for all of us

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,473 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

