The Final Showdown

March 16, 2011 at 1:51 pm 8 comments

I am glad that Regan and I decided to talk about flossing for our persuasive speech.  Most people do not think about the importance of flossing until they are told about all of the consequences of not flossing.  We all want to have healthy smiles, and flossing really is a big part of that in the long run.  I was glad to know that our speech was effective; a fellow student even came up to me afterwards and informed me that they were going to begin flossing their teeth! 😀

This speech was also important to me because, afterwards, I realized that this would be my last time working with Regan on a school assignment.  Regan and I have been best friends since Kindergarten and have shared many school projects together; everything from science fairs to country profiles to Destination Imagination practice.  And it just kind of hit me that next quarter we won’t have any classes together. After that, we’ll be headed to different universities.  So, I think that a speech about proper dental hygiene was a good way to wrap up our long list of school assignment tag-teams.  Regan, if you’re reading this, I’ll miss you! 😥

So, this is my final blog entry.  And I have learned and grown so much from this class.  Speech is one of those classes that can really be applied to the real world in so many scenarios.  I can totally tell the difference in my ability to communicate with others.  I thank all of my fellow students, and of course my amazing teacher, for that. 🙂

 

Kendra

Entry filed under: Persuasive Speech, public speaking, Public Speaking Evaluation, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics, Uncategorized.

Semi trucks Flossing!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. afreeland2011  |  March 16, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    Kendra, I lovedddd my surprise today! The wold folder means more than you’ll know! You speak very well and Dylan & I have talked about you. WE think you are going to be a very good speaker. You don’t need any improvements at all : ) Thank you again. I hope I see you and Regan around!

    Reply
    • 2. Kendra  |  March 21, 2011 at 10:48 am

      Aww, thanks Ashley! I’m so glad that you liked your folder. You are such a sweet person! And thank you, that means so much to me. I hope to see you and Dylan around as well! 😀

      Reply
  • 3. dylanmullen  |  March 16, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    Ashley and I talk about how great of a speaker you are. You never get nervous. Your major is a good one for you!

    Reply
    • 4. Kendra  |  March 21, 2011 at 10:50 am

      Thanks Dylan! That means a lot to me. I also love your speaking style because you stay so calm and laid back while you are talking. 🙂

      Reply
  • 5. reganelizabeth11  |  March 18, 2011 at 11:23 am

    Gee thanks for making me tear up!

    Reply
    • 6. Kendra  |  March 21, 2011 at 10:51 am

      You’re welcome. 😉 That was my plan. haha. We still have honor band though!!

      Reply
  • 7. shaylinmcdaniels  |  March 19, 2011 at 7:41 pm

    I loved this speech and especially your introduction. It was a really good topic! 🙂

    Reply
    • 8. Kendra  |  March 21, 2011 at 10:52 am

      Thanks Shaylin! I’m glad you liked it. I loved your topic as well. I could tell the subject meant a lot to you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,687 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

