hardest speech of the quarter

March 17, 2011 at 7:30 pm 4 comments

First off I would like to say a big thanks to Brittany Carrol for being my partner last minute my persuasion speech, because I was not sure if I could get through it by myself. I really wanted to talk about seat belts and texting while driving, but my personal story made it very hard for me to do. With the help of Brittany I was able to tell my story then give her some time to talk and myself some tome to calm down and go on.

I choose to talk about seatbelts and texting because I felt like many of the students do not wear a seatbelt and text while driving and it is so dangerous. Unfortunately I lost my best friend in a car accident when I was twelve years old because she was not wearing a seat belt when a car went left to center and hit her car head on.

I want the kids in my class to think about my personal story as well as Brittany’s and the video we shared with them when they got into their car and maybe they will buckle up and put their phone away and it could even save their life. Hopefully our speech persuaded someone in the class. I know just talking about it out loud reminded me even more to always put on my seatbelt and put my phone away.

 

Nicolle

Entry filed under: public speaking, Public Speaking Evaluation, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics, Uncategorized.

Last Class Fortune Teller

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cheynbuck  |  March 18, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    I know it was very hard to talk about something so close to you. I thought your topic was great, I don’t always wear my seatbelt but I will from now on.

    Reply
  • 2. Leeza Rickey  |  March 18, 2011 at 3:01 pm

    You and Brittanys speech was very moving because the stories that both of you shared was personal and I am glad you did share them because now I get the big picture. I wont text and drive anymore and your speech was very informative and persuasive. Good Job!

    Reply
  • 3. andr6295  |  March 18, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    That was a great speech it really changed how I think about seat belts. I have wore my seatbelt every time I have got into a vehicle since your speech.

    Reply
  • 4. shaylinmcdaniels  |  March 19, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    You gave an awesome speech, not only were you well prepared for it but it was very touching. I gained a lot from that speech. The video was a very good thing to play. After watching that video and hearing your speech I don’t text and drive, ever and I always think of your speech to remind me to put my seatbelt on 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,474 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

