No More Speeches:(

March 17, 2011 at 7:24 pm 3 comments

When I first signed up for this class I must admit I was somewhat dreadful of it. Nothing against the class,  it’s just a different world from the typical sitting in class and participating from the back of the room. Turns out that I wasn’t afraid of the class though I was just afraid of something different. As the weeks progressed I began to learn to not only become accepting of speaking in front of a group but to accept new things.

I first did a reading that I was extremely nervous about, but afterwards it turned out very well and I actually enjoyed the experience very much! The next time I did a speech this attitude carried over and the speech went well all because I’d began to learn how to accept new things, the new thing in this instance being public speaking. This idea of good change is something I don’t think I’ll lose though. This class that was originally intended just to teach me how to speak at least semi-comfortably in front of a group of people has turned into so much more, kind of a life lesson in a way, just because you don’t know what to expect doesn’t mean you should go in with a bad attitude or with dread. In the end things turn out very well sometimes, and they definitely did in this case:) Thanks everyone for being such a fun class and thanks Candee for being such a good teacher!

Clayton

Entry filed under: public speaking, Public Speaking Evaluation, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

server not servant Last Class

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. evan64731  |  March 17, 2011 at 11:35 pm

    I had the same feeling coming into this class and I also have the same outlook on the class now that it is over and I also enjoyed it very much.

    Reply
  • 2. Melinda  |  March 19, 2011 at 10:18 am

    I loved your speeches! You have a great speaking voice, and you always have a smile (a sparkle of fun) when you are talking. I wish the best for you in your future.

    Reply
  • 3. trishhall  |  March 21, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    Well sir, I can say with certainty that you will accomplish anything you set out to do in life. You are such an amazingly smart, very grounded guy, I simply adored your outputs on everything. You uplifted my day often with facts or ‘monster madness’, but it brings a smile. Thanks for that 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,529 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

