Something as simple as making a paper airplane makes a great speech!

March 19, 2011 at 2:37 pm 1 comment

So after pondering for a good while on what I would do for a good speech I couldn’t think of a good topic.  I asked one of my close friends what they thought I should give the speech on and their advice to me was do it on something that has always been fun for you.  Something that is simple .  Something that you are good at, and most of all something that would be easy for the class to participate in.  I chose to show the entire class how to make a paper airplane.

Why?  I am good at it.  It’s always been fun for me, and it is simple for the whole class.  It was the perfect idea.  When I came in to the class I brought in enough sheets for the whole class and showed them how to make a paper airplane called the dart.  At first I did not know how everyone would like the presentation but it turned out really well.  Once every one had their sheet of paper with the help of my friend Kate we began on making our planes.  The steps to making the paper airplane were so simple to me.  I had tons of practice from making them for many years.  Every one in the class had fun and no one had trouble making the dart.  After every one had their plane finished they threw them across the room and the whole speech was a great success!

 

Alex

Entry filed under: Demonstration Speech, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics, Uncategorized.

Things to Remember Persuasive Speech

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Gideon Meyer  |  March 29, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    Thanks for sharing this Alex. It’s nice to know that your speech doesn’t have to be on a great topic. Just something you know a lot about.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,674 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

