Memories

March 22, 2011 at 10:03 pm 4 comments

Looking back over all of our classes and speeches, there are many good memories to take with me. Like many of you have stated in your blogs, this class has been eye opening and a lot different than I expected it to be. When the class first began, we talked about “finding your voice”, and I wondered where that would take us. I dreaded the speaking out-loud part of the class as much or more than anyone. But with gentle guidance we all began to find out a little more about ourselves (our voice), and with Candee’s teaching we gained confidence to stand in front of each other and speak out. I feel like I learned many things in this class, and I know it was very beneficial to me in my life.

The young people in this class are awesome and I wish you all the very best in life. Thank you for all your support and encouragement with speeches in this class.

Candee, I think you know how most of your students feel about you. You are a wonderful teacher. This is not an easy class but you have a way of making each person more comfortable. I believe that this class will make an impact on anyone who takes it. When I made the poster on “reflecting”, I wrote some adjectives about you. I hope you looked at them and take them to heart. One of the things I wanted to express in that poster, is that from the beginning- to the end of the class, I noticed that everyone was taking on those same positive traits. Thank you Candee, once again, for being who you are!! I love you—-all!

Melinda

Entry filed under: public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Parting is Such Sweet Sorrow Fortune Teller

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julie Shafer  |  March 30, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    Due to the fact that I have just began taking this class, it is encouraging to hear what you have to say about it. Like you said, I also get very nervous when I have to give speeches in front of a class so we both relate there, but it’s good to know that this class taught you to overcome that fear and made you feel more at ease. I am hoping that after this class is over I will be more confident and less nervous when speaking in front of others. Fortunately, from what I just read from your blog, I will be able to establish that goal, or at least come close.

    Reply
  • 2. danielle beachler  |  March 31, 2011 at 10:51 am

    After reading all of the postive input from former students, it sounds like were all in for a treat with Ms. Candee. I was stunned when I started to read the posts from former stundents and how they learned so much from such a gifted and nurturing teacher. Since reading the post I am looking forward to learning how to develope myself in speech class. I know that there are several things that i have to work on since my last speech in English class, with this class I’m hoping to accomplish and overcome my floundering when it comes to getting infront of a large group.

    Reply
  • 3. Ryan Beasley  |  March 31, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    Im just now taking this class and from what you have said, I hope this struggle to speak out loud infront of a whole class will slowly get better for me, and my classmates also. Confidence in speaking outloud is something I am lacking and need to gain in order to speak well to others throughout life. I know with this class I can obtain confidence and become less nervous. I am ready to start this class and learn through Candee’s teaching and become a good speaker!

    Reply
  • 4. nickcooper2009  |  March 31, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    As a new student in Candee’s speech class, I am coming into it with mixed emotions. Part of me wants to learn how to open up in front of a group of people and talk about things that are important to me. However, like most people I get anxious in front of people and lose my focus which is why this class seems daunting, even terrifyng. By the end, I would like to look back on it as positively as you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,617 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

