I’m almost over my fear of giving a speech.

April 6, 2011 at 9:20 pm Leave a comment

I’ve only been to three classes this semester, and speaking in front of other people is already getting easier, and easier. I really enjoy the group work we have been doing. I like going up as a group and speaking in front of the class instead of just myself. I feel like it is preparing me for talking in front of the class by myself for my speeches.

I also think that this class will help me “come out of my shell” when it comes to speaking In front of groups of people. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a very social person, and I love talking to people on a personal level, but there is something about talking in front of a group of people that really freaks me out. I remember one of my most embarrassing moments in high school was when I had to present a project in front of my English class. I was so nervous I started to stutter, and I couldn’t pronounce any words correctly. But in speech class I realized that I’m not the only one that gets nervous when talking in front of people, and it makes me feel better. Because nobody’s speech is going to be perfect, and everybody is going to stumble across their words at one  point, and it’s ok. I feel a lot more comfortable talking in front of people already.

 

Alicia

Entry filed under: By Alicia, public speaking, Uncategorized.

Hope For The Best The Big Show

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,127 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

