Skills For Life

April 6, 2011 at 4:52 pm 1 comment

As my time here at Southern State is winding down, I find public speaking to be one of the most important skills you can have. I am sure algebra has its place in the educational system. But I feel the skills that we achieve in this course will stay with us for the rest of our lives. It isn’t just about standing in front of the class and talking. It is about forming thoughts and opinions. Gathering facts. Letting your audience inside of your head for a brief period of time. This class is about taking our thoughts and conveying them in a way that people can understand them just as clearly as the speaker. It is also about getting a better understanding of those who speak before you as well.

Listening in my opinion is far more important than speaking. The things I have taken in from others help shape who I am today. Speakers give me the content I need to help form my own beliefs and opinions. I have felt passionately about things only to have someone make me take a second look and possibly change my way of thinking. This class to me is far more important than most due to the fact that this is a life skill. This is up there with reading, spelling, driving. Skills that you will take with you wherever you go, and whatever you do. I have given my share of speeches. Some in front of a few, and a few in front of a hundred or more. I consider myself lucky because the nerves are gone. Once you achieve this, you can take the next step and focus solely on your structure and content. That is my goal for this course.

Andy

Entry filed under: By Andy, confidence & public speaking, Meaning, My Voice, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

A Nice Surprise. Hope For The Best

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. mark  |  June 2, 2011 at 2:00 am

    your are exactly rigjht. i think good speaking skills are one of the most important things a person should have if they wish to succeed in life. unless you know how to communicate people will never hear what you have to say

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,687 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

