Learning to Improve

April 7, 2011 at 4:46 pm 1 comment

I have only had three days of speech class and all of them have been great.  I was glad that the teacher gave us the opportunity to get to know each other in the speech class.  It was fun to get to work in groups together and then present what we have learned to class.  I think that the group presentations helped to break the ice before I have to give a speech by myself.  I have already learned a lot from this speech class through the teacher, the book, and the other students.  I can tell that this speech class will help me to improve my confidence and my public speaking skills.

I learned that there are  many people afraid of public speaking, so when I get nervous before a speech I am not the only one.  However, I can turn that nervousness into excitement for giving my speech.  I am glad I am taking this speech class because there are a lot of things I need to improve on in public speaking.  I need to improve on my body language while giving a speech.  I learned that the way you walk up to the podium before giving a speech even matters.  I am the devotions leader for my 4-H club and a lot of times while giving the devotion, I have bad posture, read directly off a paper, and do not make very good eye contact with those around me.  I am looking forward to learning how to be a more effective public speaker so I can apply what I’ve learned to all the times in life when I have to get up in front of people.  Another area that this speech class will help me improve on is in being more calm and confident in giving a speech.  I have learned that a speech does not have to be perfect, so as long a I am fully prepared I should have confidence and enthusiasm as I make my speech.   As I have already begun to learn from my teacher and classmates, I am looking forward to continue to improve on my public speaking.

Mary Johnson

Entry filed under: By Mary, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

2 weeks in… A new look at life

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Pamela B.  |  April 16, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    Mary, I have listened to your first speech and am definitely looking forward to hearing more from you. You have a wonderful voice for public speaking. I think one of the reasons I am excited about this class is the journey we are all taking together as a unit. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,770 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

