My mother always said, “Anything worth doing, is worth doing well.

April 7, 2011 at 2:03 pm Leave a comment

I can not believe we are already at the end of the second week. The group presentations are going well for me. The second presentation was a little easier, I didn’t hear my heartbeat in my ears. I find it hard to believe that just a few suggestions outlined in the first few chapters have helped as much as they have.

I am looking forward to reciting my favorite poem for the class. I hope it will be long enough. Edgar Allan Poe is my all time favorite poet. And given all the younger students, I’m not really sure they teach his wonderful writings anymore. I want to share his style and words with everyone.

I have learned a few new techniques to control my anxiety. Putting the extra adrenalin to good use was a suggestion in the book. I attribute that simple instruction to my more relaxed demeanour during the last speech. I felt an accomplishment and an odd relief when I finished. I kept waiting to hear my heartbeat. I was afraid my mind was going to go blank; but, everything just came together.

My goal is to be able to present an effective well prepared speech by the time I finish this course. I hope to provide inspiration and information. I want to be an asset to my class. I want to learn new things. My mother always said anything worth doing, is worth doing well. Being able to deliver a well thought out, effective speech is a skill all people need. It is worth doing so I will accomplish it and I will exceed my own expectations.

Entry filed under: By Jamie, public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

I saved this class for last. It’s all about your attitude

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,473 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

