The Key to Public Speaking?

April 7, 2011 at 8:49 am Leave a comment

I wish I had a key that held all the answers to  a good public speech and beyond that door somewhere I’d find a clue that would tell me how to banish all my fears about speaking in front of a crowd.

Whenever I get in front of a room of people ready to give a speech I start to feel my heart beat a little faster, I get ‘stage fright’ from all those eyes starring at me, I usually end up talking too fast, and in the back of my mind I’m so afraid my speech won’t be good enough- I’ll mess up… have everyone think I’m an idiot. These are the thoughts and feelings that usually run through my mind before and during a speech I have to present.

Speaking is a scary experience to me and (as I’ve learned) for others too.  I’ve also realized that people take different steps to make it seem a little less scary.

So I’ve been thinking lately that maybe if I treat my speech like my writing; focus  more on my topic, less on me actually giving the speech in front of my fellow classmates, I won’t get so nervous.

See I love writing. Somewhere along the line I’ve fallen in love with words, their beauty when you place them just right, the emotion and connection they can hold.

My goal of writing is to move people and make them really think. I want at least one person to feel as if my writing has changed them and if I can apply that to my speech maybe I’ve found the golden key; speeches as less about the presenter and more about the audience.

So when I am standing in front of the room ready to give my own speech I’ll think about more about my message, less about stage fright, and speaking might seem a little less frightening to me.

(A quote I found and really liked) “It’s not how strongly you feel about your topic, it’s how strongly they feel about your topic after you speak.”

Sabrina

Entry filed under: By Sabrina, public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, storytelling, Uncategorized.

Confidence Booster Just the Beginning

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 169,079 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

