Getting Used to it

April 8, 2011 at 9:02 am Leave a comment

Well, like most students, I put taking this class off until my last quarter. I wouldn’t be taking it if it were not required. I am not a fan of having to talk in front of a group, especially when it comes to having to do it for a grade. I wasn’t sure what this class would be like or what would be expected of me. A few class sessions have gone by now and I almost have no nervousness left already. Most of the classmates have the same fears of public speaking and Candee really helps to make you feel relaxed.  I’m sure that my nervousness will return when it comes time to do my first speech alone. I am really learning a lot and even though I am not looking forward to doing any speeches I know now that I can push through and do this. It will get easier in time and this is something that will benefit me in many areas in my life.

Through exploring the book I have learned several good ways to help me relax and turn my  nervousness into a good thing. Working in groups allows us to get used to giving speeches in front of the room without being up there alone and share insight with others. We have got the opportunity to share what we have thought was important as well as hear what others have thought was important. This not only allows us to learn from others but to have an open mind, accept others opinions and learn to listen! I did not expect to come in to speech class and learn about listening. I feel it shows the importance of respecting other classmates when they are speaking and helps you to learn from them. I am sure I will learn many wonderful things by truly listening.

Although, the reason I am taking this class is because it is a requirement I know it will be a good experience from me and I look forward to learning more.

Ashley

Entry filed under: By Ashley, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Spiders Scare Me BREATHE

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,529 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

