Just try to Relax

April 9, 2011 at 9:40 am Leave a comment

I am becoming more comfortable getting up in front of class, of course it has been with four other people so far. I hope as I become more familiar with everyone in class and less like a stranger, I will be able to relax more. I am finding every class I learn something new that helps me feel more confident about giving a public address. Candee seems to do everything she can to help us become more and more confident in our own ability to speak in public, and not pass-out. From time to time I have had to get up in front of my Church and give a talk, every single time I am so nervous I stumble through it, no more.

I will use the skills be taught us in this class to make sure I never stumble through another talk, or at less often. I also think that being an older student can be a benefit and a stumbling block for learning to speak in public effectively. The benefit comes by not caring as much about what other people think of you, as you did when you were young. On the other side, we older students have had years to grow use to our flaws in speaking and it makes it a little harder to unlearn. They say you can’t teach an old dog new tricks, I don’t believe that, I think you just have to do some unlearning first. All in all I’m glad I’m taking this class, even though I avoided it until my last quarter; Candee has helped to take away some of the fear of failure and replaced it with optimism.

Being an older student I know there will be a lot I can learn from the younger students in class, and hopefully they can learn a little from us “Ancient ones”. And when it’s said and done, I can just try to relax.

Mark A

Entry filed under: By Mark A., confidence & public speaking, Fear & public speaking, public speaking, Public Speaking Evaluation, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Critical Thinking & Critical Learning Most Important for Great Public Speaking

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,223 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

