Most Important for Great Public Speaking

April 10, 2011 at 8:34 am 1 comment

I have seen a lot of different speakers in my life. I’ve seen speeches from big politicians all the way to small speeches from the final night of a high school play. They’ve taught me a lot but I want to focus on thee.

The first one is a chef whose name is Andre. I was only about 5 or 6 when I heard him, but I remember his name because he got the entire audience involved. Every time he lifted his right hand he told us to say oooo. Every time he lifted his left hand he had us say awww. And when he put both his hands up he had us yell out his name, Andre. Even to this day I can still hear the crowed roar.

Next I want to talk about is my best friend Austin’s speech. It was the last night of the play we were doing and everyone was nervous. So he jumped up on a table in the middle of the room and started to speak. He started to talk about how much fun and good times he had doing this play and how he has so many more good friends now. By the and of his speech everyone was hugging, crying, and feeling better. The reason that his speech worked so well is because we could all relate to what he was saying because we all got closer to each other during this time.

The final person I want to talk about is my dad. He had to speak at a Memorial Day Service one year for are whole town. His speech went off without a hitch. Being my dad I got a behind the scenes look at the whole thing. What I remember more than anything is how much he practice and reread his speech.

I learned from Andre, Austin and my dad that these are some of the most important things about speech.

1. Get the crowed involved and excited.

2. Connect with the crowd and let them connect with you.

3. Practice practice practice.

 

Casey Baldridge

Entry filed under: by Casey, Experience & public speaking, public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, storytelling, Uncategorized.

Just try to Relax My Biggest Fear

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Brandon  |  April 18, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    good tips for anyone wanting to take their speaches up i lttle as far as quality goes

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,529 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

