My Biggest Fear

April 11, 2011 at 9:26 am 3 comments

For me public speaking has never come easy. I would avoid it at all costs. I wouldn’t even be taking this class if it weren’t required for me to get my degree. I always thought that some people were better at public speaking than others and I was of the type that wasn’t any good at it. The idea of being able to captivate a group of listeners has always appealed to me, but I was too worried about the idea of making a fool of myself.

I have, however, recently had some experience in the art of public speaking. Several months ago I was in a rehabilitation program with the Salvation Army. Part of graduating this program meant I would have to get up in front of everybody (about 80 people)and pretty much tell my life story and how I ended up there. I dreaded that day and prayed to God for strength to get me through it. When the day finally rolled around a was sweating bullets and thought I might get sick. I never did get sick but what I did do was deliver an excellent speech that received all kinds of positive feedback.  After it was over I couldn’t understand why I had been so nervous. Several months later I gave my graduation speech and that time I approached the podium with a new confidence.

It’s been several months since then and I know I’ve not totally conquered my fear but I’m now ready to ready to take the next step and become one of those people who I always thought were meant for public speaking.  The book is very helpful on giving ideas on how to deal with nervousness. I like knowing that most of the anxiety I feel when giving a speech is not even noticeable.  I think the most can be learnt from actual experience though and look forward to giving our speeches in class.

Mark

Entry filed under: By Mark, confidence & public speaking, Experience & public speaking, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Reflecting on Experience, storytelling, Uncategorized.

Most Important for Great Public Speaking Speech is like golf

3 Comments Add your own

  • […] Visit link: My Biggest Fear « Learn the Art of Public Speaking […]

    Reply
  • 2. Pamela B.  |  April 16, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    Mark, When I listened to your manuscript reading during class, I was captivated and was impressed by your speech. I for one, think you are well on you way to being a public speaker. Keep up the good work.

    Pam

    Reply
  • 3. moroni15  |  April 17, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    Pam, thank you very much for the encouragement, I can also see that you are on your way as well to becoming a public speaker. So continue pushing forward, no fear.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,529 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

