What public speaking is to me, and the discovery of myself

April 13, 2011 at 8:17 am 1 comment

I have always known that speech is basically a portal into someone’s soul, unfortunately I have had issues with speaking in front  of people.  When I started this class I did not know what to think because I have always been a follower instead of the one that gets up and takes the bull by the horns.  The first time I took a speech class I understood what it meant to be overwhelmed. Speaking to people comes natural to me, but speaking in front of people is a challenge.  Along the lines of my first attempt at speech class, I hurried the speech never thinking how badly I sounded, even though I had all of the material, to me I thought that I sounded like a fool, and the teacher graded me accordingly. This was on top of me being left to do an English project all by myself, one that included doing the interviews and preparing the paper. The other person got a better grade than I did even though I had done all of the work.

I am looking forward to this class because the last several nights that we have had to stand up in front of the class and explain what we chose to write about. This has helped me realize that there is nothing to worry about.  This class has been one of the more interesting classes I think I’ve had yet. I’m going to go on to a four-year institution in hopes of finally getting my bachelors degree, and with that I am sure that I am going to see more speaking in front of the class.

With my career choice I am certain that I will be utilizing these skills of speaking in public more often than not, because one day I hope to be running a juvenile facility or at least working as a parole/probation officer.  My life’s dream is to help kids, and if I can reach just one, I guess that’s a start.

 

Danielle

Entry filed under: By Danielle, Experience & public speaking, Finding Your Voice, Public Speaking Evaluation, Reflecting on Experience, storytelling, Uncategorized.

My Greatest Fear One Down – Three to Go

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. randarhoades  |  April 18, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    I just wanted to give you a little encouragement… I believe that this class is going to strengthin each one of us. I know that Candee is awesome at boosting us up and each person in the room seem engaged which is helpful. I was in a class last quarter that people talked all the way through others presentations,it was terrible. I hope all your dreams come true and I also hope that your nervousness goes away, I have been trying to tell myself that everyone else feels just like you do. Just breathe we are all in this together.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,746 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

