One Down – Three to Go

April 14, 2011 at 10:05 am 3 comments

Yesterday, a number of us gave our first speech (a reading).  A number of days before, while preparing for my reading, I was very much at ease and was not at all apprehensive.  I felt very strongly about what I was reading and wanted to tell something that would encourage and benefit those that heard it.  I was looking forward to reading this particular story to the class.  As I sat there, before any of the speeches had started, I felt myself getting more and more nervous with each passing minute.  My number three spot on the list had become the number two spot,  due to a postponement.   It was now even closer than I thought it would be.    If you experience jumpy nerves right before, just get up, give your speech and work through it.  That’s what I did.  It will soon be over in three to five minutes anyway (ha, ha).

The class was great and listened well throughout all of our speeches.  There was a mixture of different types of readings.  There were a couple of personal stories; I wanted to get up and give them a big hug when they were finished.  There were children’s books read; some that I have not heard for a very long time and there were inspirational readings.  All who read did a great job and seemed to be very much at ease, or at least it came across that way.    Those that gave their speech on Tuesday, can now say  –     One Down, Three to Go!

Patty

Entry filed under: By Patty, confidence & public speaking, Public Reading, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

What public speaking is to me, and the discovery of myself It is Okay to Hurt, Cry, Fear and Laugh. Laugh as often as You Can. Laughter is Magical.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. vashtione  |  April 14, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    Patty that is good to just get up and give your speach, you are thru the hardest part. Just getting up. Isn’t it funny when you are at home writing or reading your piece, you are not at all nervous. At least with me that is how it was, but when i was up in front of everyone, it all hit. You did such a good job on your reading. I am looking forward to your next one.
    Tina

    Reply
  • 2. haylee2012  |  April 18, 2011 at 11:00 pm

    You come off as so confident! I love it. You always have such a way of saying things and did a great job on your speech. keep up the great work 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Jennifer  |  April 19, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    I really like the comment “just get up, give your speech, and work through it”. It’s going to be my motto for the rest of this quarter to get me through my more nervewracking times. So thank you for that. And like you said, it will be over in three to five minutes anyway. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,736 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

