Just a Few Thoughts

April 18, 2011 at 5:34 pm 1 comment

I didn’t intend on making any changes to my schedule until I got a last-minute letter saying my English class had been cancelled, I needed the 3-4 credit hours to stay full-time and there wasn’t many options for me. So, here I am in Speech Class facing one of my biggest fears, speaking in front of people. Had lots of doubts about making this class a success story, then I started listening and getting involved and realized this class is something I do everyday but in an organized fashion.

So, we have done some talking, some visual demonstrations, some reading from our text-book and my thoughts in a summary are;  The voice that a speech has is very important along with correct pausing  makes the words have meaning because they can be clearly understood and comprehended.  The rate of the voice is just as equally important, when a speaker delivers to fast the speech can be under rated or misunderstood, if a speaker delivers at a very slow pace a voice could be monotone or just simply cause boredom.   A speakers eye contact with their audience is key for a base connection.  If there is little or no eye contact the audience will be very disconnected from the speech.  Putting positive movement and expressions within the speech will show the audience what its meaning is on a personable level. I was very nervous, I am still a little tense just about the position and having to speak aloud but my encouragement to myself  is “I know who I am, and what I am capable of .”

Kristin

Entry filed under: By Kristin, Experience & public speaking, Fear & public speaking, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Undo Panic in my first speech That Wasn’t So Bad

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. boon9492  |  June 2, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    Kristin,

    We’ve become good friends this semester, and I’m so glad! I don’t know what I would do without you in speech or biology! You’re words get heard, your last speech brought me to tears. In a good way of course. Thank you so much for helping me and also, your visual with the flower pedals was amazing. Your story and persuasive meaning behind it, that everyone can be in the lowest low of their lives and still not give up. You are an inspiration to me, thank you for sharing. As always. Love ya girl.

    Erin Boone

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,127 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

