That Wasn’t So Bad

April 18, 2011 at 5:40 pm 6 comments

Okay so I got my first speech out of the way. Was I nervous? Of course, but I just didn’t let myself think about it. And when I did all I had to do was just look everyone doing their speeches to realize that I wasn’t the only one that was nervous.

When I first walked up to the podium my heart was going a mile-a-minute. I knew right then that I had to get my breathing under control and calm myself down. While Pam was nice enough to give me an introduction I was practicing a breathing exercise they taught me in anger-management(not that I’m an angry person or anything). Deep breaths through the nose, exhale out the mouth. By the time Pam had finished I had my composure back and was breathing normally.

“The Whiskey Speech” was a great find for me. It had just the right mix of seriousness and humor.  I could put myself in the role of the actual speaker and feel, I believe, the way that he must have felt the day the speech had originally been given. The speech demanded presence and a powerful voice, both of which I tried my hardest to deliver. I reminded myself to pace myself and not get into a hurry, adding pauses where they seemed most effective. I made sure to get as eye-contact as i could while still being able to read from the manuscript.

Seemed in no time my speech was over. I got a good ovation and I think even surprised a few people. I think that doing a reading like this is good preparation for our upcoming speeches. I just hope that I can do as good on the next as I did on the last.

By Mark Short

Entry filed under: By Mark, confidence & public speaking, Experience & public speaking, Fear & public speaking, Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Evaluation, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience.

Just a Few Thoughts Slow and Steady Wins The Race!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gmeyer10  |  April 18, 2011 at 6:30 pm

    Mark, I thought you did a great job. I really enjoyed your reading choice too! I liked that it was meaningful and not something you just settled for. I’m looking forward to your future speeches. –Gideon

    Reply
  • 2. shayla011  |  April 18, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    Mark, you did an awesome job giving your speech! The article was very interesting and touching. You spoke as if you have spoken in front of a crowd dozens of times. Keep the good speeches coming!

    Reply
  • 3. Pamela B.  |  April 18, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    Mark, I really enjoyed your speech. Your pacing and pauses were just how they should have been. Great Job!

    Pam

    Reply
  • 4. Andy  |  April 19, 2011 at 9:47 am

    Mark I will honestly say your reading surprised me. I really enjoyed listening to you speak. You have a great tone and really brought your words to life. I look forward to your informative speech.

    Reply
  • 5. rbeasley02  |  April 19, 2011 at 1:02 pm

    Mark, you did great! I didnt notice that you were nervous at all and doign a breathing exercise. Your topic was awesome. Keep it up!

    Reply
  • 6. boon9492  |  April 21, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    Mark, you did very well. Your voice volume and eye contact was perfect. And the speech was interesting. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,687 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

