Undo Panic in my first speech

April 18, 2011 at 8:34 am 4 comments

I can not believe the first speech is over and done. I was three, and then two. The minute I realized it, my heartbeat increased and began drumming in my ears. I could feel the panic building inside me. And when it became my turn, my brain began scrambling for ideas…anything to grasp onto to use as a life preserver. And then I had an epiphany….

I’ve done this all before (granted it’s been a long time). I reexamined my notes to be sure I knew everything I wanted to say and tried some of the helpful tips suggested in the book. That really helped contol my anxiety. Two teachers whose words, had a major impact on my public speaking, came flooding into my head. My speech coach, “Don’t forget who you are. And “you know what you are doing, we don’t. So show us!”

And my cheerleading coach always said to the squad, “Speak up, or shut up!” They were wonderful teachers.

So, I began by reintroducing myself and crossing off why and what I was doing in front of everyone. I think it went pretty well. If I could remember to breathe it would of been better. I believe it will get easier and I won’t be so scattered brained when my turn comes.

Jamie

Entry filed under: By Jamie, Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

A journey of a thousand miles… Just a Few Thoughts

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. d0tz8806  |  April 18, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    I love that you shared these quotes I will have to remember them when I am up there. You did great I hope it gets easier and easier each speech we give.

    Reply
  • 2. julieshafer  |  April 18, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    Jamie,
    I thought your speech went very well and I am amazed to hear that you were that nervous before giving your speech because I didn’t think you were nervous at all. You must be really good at hiding your nervousness! đŸ™‚
    I know that you will do great on our upcoming speeches and I wish you the best of luck!

    Reply
  • 3. pkfoote  |  April 18, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    Jamie, I thought you did a wonderful job on your speech. I know your poetry is very meaningful to you (it’s part of your life written on paper with words from your heart). I especially liked the one you wrote for your parents. Know that you honor them everytime you read it. I thought you were very much in control and gave a most enjoyable speech. patty

    Reply
  • 4. Randa Rhoades  |  April 19, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    I think your poetry is fantastic!! Not many people have this art and you do. I loved each one you read and I also thought you showed wonderful poise and great confidence good job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,535 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

