Less traveled by…old men… and darkness

April 19, 2011 at 8:08 pm 1 comment

When I was choosing my reading at first I wasn’t going to read any of my own work. I started off just picking from Robert Frost work but I couldn’t find anything long enough so I then added some Alice Walker to the mix and it still wasn’t long enough. Then I decided to make it personal with my own work from my senior year in high school. Which made a lot of difference to me.

By the time I got all of this chosen, it was Tuesday and time to listen/ watch everyone give their speech which I was feeling alright because mine wasn’t until Thursday. Once Thursday rolled around and I watched the three before me go I knew the list was getting shorter to my name. I wasn’t really nervous till it was my turn to stand up there alone not presenting a poster but my own work along with some pieces from Alice Walker and Robert Frost. Once over and reading all of the reviews I felt better. I found that I can take things that everyone commented on into the next speech we have to give and I will be able to give it with more confidence and louder hopefully.

Dottie

Entry filed under: By Dottie, Fear & public speaking, Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Evaluation, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics, Uncategorized.

How do YOU feel now? Brainstorming

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. brittnr2011  |  April 20, 2011 at 8:42 pm

    I really liked your speech and I also was very nervous when it came to my turn but before that I really wasnt that nervous till my turn to get in front of the class. I also really like the comments from the class because it also is helping me in what I need to improve for the next speech coming up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,473 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

