Our first speech

April 19, 2011 at 9:01 am 4 comments

We presented our first speeches last week but they were just readings. Even though all we had to do was read a book, poem, song lyrics, etc., it was still a little nerve-wracking. I was nervous when it was almost my turn to get up and read the book that I chose to read but once I got up there, I wasn’t near as nervous as I thought I would be. Each person had another classmate come up with them and introduce them before they started reading and I think that helped calm my nerves because I didn’t have to go up in front of the class all by myself. I was very impressed with everyone elses’ readings because none of them showed signs of nervousness and everyone presented their material very well. That’s one of the reasons why I was nervous before it was my turn to read because everyone else that had already gone before me did so well. Now that we got through the first speech without too much trouble, I am excited to see how the rest of our speeches turn out!

– Julie

Entry filed under: By Julie, Public Reading, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Worried for Nothing Relax and trust yourself

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andy  |  April 19, 2011 at 9:45 am

    I really enjoyed your reading. It was simple but engaging. The chicks were a nice added touch. It added some depth. The Easter candy was a nice touch as well. A great way to win over your audience 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. basketball1230  |  April 19, 2011 at 12:06 pm

    Well first off you done a good job on your speech. You had good eye contact and your volume was liget.Your tone was also good it wasnt monotone so you didnt bore me. NIce JOB !!

    Reply
  • 3. mcclain6228  |  April 19, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    You did a really good job. Your story was one that I had never heard. You couldn’t tell you were nervous. Just remember on the next ones that you can do it and were all just as nervous.

    Reply
  • 4. Pamela B.  |  April 19, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    Julie, First off, I could not tell that you were nervous. I guess the text was right when it said most of the speaker’s nervousness does not show. You did a great job and your earnestness was definitely a treasure. Oh, yeah, and I loved the chicks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,770 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

