Real Anxiety!!!

April 19, 2011 at 12:21 pm 3 comments

The day I gave my speech I was very nervous and scared. I don’t know what I was afraid of.  I have done this a couple times before. Oh!! Now I know I do this every time I am in front of  an audience!!  I just can not figure out why.  I loved the poem I chose because I believe that it rings true in each one of our lives and I believe I tried to state that but I got tongue-tied and when I get tongue-tied then my face starts burning and my mouth becomes dry and sticky. I know I was in the middle of a full-blown anxiety attack.

When I stood up I felt like all the blood in my body was in my head and I could not think.  However when I actually started reading I began to pray and think about some of  the techniques the book advises us of and some of the anxiety subsided.  I will say looking out at faces that seemed interested made a huge difference in my speech.  I don’t think this one ended up bad but I am scared of the next ones because we have to talk about our subject not read. I do however enjoy this class and I think that everyone in here done a wonderful job kudos to all of us!!!!!  And Candee thank you so much for the encouragement you give to each one of us.

Randa

Entry filed under: By Randa, Experience & public speaking, Fear & public speaking, Public Reading, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Nervousness My Personal Freedom

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tnhmom05  |  April 19, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    I agree, Candee makes this class so much easier to take. She also has a way of opening up the rest of the class to be accepting and encouraging of everybody else in the class.

    -Ashley

    Reply
  • 2. brittnr2011  |  April 20, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    I also agree with you and Ashley. Candee makes this class so much easier for me. I also used some techniques before i had to get infront of the class. I squeesed my hands together constantly to relieve my nervousness which actually worked a little.

    Brittany

    Reply
  • 3. zieg7785  |  April 20, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    You did a really good job! I was only able to catch the last part of your reading, but I was impressed none the less.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 169,063 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

