A Sigh of Relief!

April 20, 2011 at 10:15 am 1 comment

So, Tuesday I gave my first speech! After I left class the previous Thursday I couldn’t believe I signed up to go on the first day… because I’m usually the procrastinator that will try to stay hidden until I absolutely HAVE to go! But I thought, what the heck, I’ll just get it out of the way!

I woke up Tuesday morning nervous, and it continued to stay with me through the day. When speech class began I felt more at ease,  of course until I was next to go. Once I got up in front of everyone and began to speak, my knotted stomach and anxious nerves died down. I felt like I was talking forever though! But all in all, I’m very glad I went on the first day, and glad I got the first speech out of the way.

Bring on the next!

-Shayla Black

Entry filed under: By Shayla, Experience & public speaking, Finding Your Voice, Group Communication, Public Reading, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Brainstorming Thank you

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. zieg7785  |  April 20, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    You did a good job with your reading. I know what you mean nervousness but after the reading I felt almost silly for being so afraid.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,746 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

