Inspired by little voices

April 23, 2011 at 2:55 pm 1 comment

When I was preparing for my reading speech I had so many thoughts about what I could read.  I noticed myself beginning to become nervous about speaking, so I decided to talk to my “little mommy army” (my kids) about my assignment. My kids response was, “Mom you know what would be the coolest thing to read, Green Eggs and Ham because  it is the best when you read it at home.”  So, my favorite thing about my reading speech was my kids were the inspiration and they were the story behind the story.  I was still nervous even though I have read this book many, many times to my kids.

I believe making myself realize that the audience in one way or another can relate, agree, have compassion, or simply enjoy the speech when its meaningful to me will stand true in all my speeches. Something I learned from this experience is do not doubt your speech, it will be all you make it to be. THANK YOU to all my classmates who reminisced on this Dr. Seuss classic with me!

Kristin

Entry filed under: By Kristin, Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Reading Speeches It’s Going To Be Alright

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. dbeachler77  |  June 1, 2011 at 1:16 am

    I know that we all have challenges in life but your speech about your house fire about had me in tears. It is good that you are now picking up the boot straps and getting things done. The biggest blessing is seeing that total strangers still have some good left in there hearts to come those in need. THANK YOU for the speech

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,529 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

