It’s Going To Be Alright

April 24, 2011 at 6:13 pm Leave a comment

After weeks of worry, speech class is in full swing, and the worry has subsided a little bit. I have completed my first speech, the reading of the kindergarten story, and it wasn’t as terrible as I believed it would be.

Although I was very nervous and scared, I was told afterwards that it wasn’t even noticed while I was reading the story. That definitely makes a person feel better, knowing that even though they are a mess of butterflies inside it really isn’t visible on the outside. It has helped to calm my nerves knowing that I can mask them (the nerves) and I can come across as someone who might not be nervous at all. Faking confidence is what I’m guessing that would be called.

I am still worried though, because the reading seemed to be the easiest of the assignments, which is probably why we started with it. 🙂 Reading out of a book wasn’t difficult, but trying to compose my own speech and ideas is another story. Trying to capture the attention of the audience and deliver a good speech with something personal that I have worked on brings on a whole new meaning to having butterflies.

But like I read in another blog, I will just have to get up there and do it. Work through it and get it over with. And I have to remember that no matter what, at the end of the day, it’s going to be alright.

Jennifer

Entry filed under: By Jennifer, confidence & public speaking, Experience & public speaking, Fear & public speaking, Public Reading, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Inspired by little voices Getting There!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 169,049 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

