Chick Chat

April 26, 2011 at 8:02 pm 1 comment

Hello fellow speech mates. Spring has finally arrived in the Ohio Valley and baby chicks are hatching by the basket full. I hope Mrs. Basfords’ speech class liked the Easter chicks as much as I enjoyed sharing them with my reading presentation. I must say,  it seemed a little ironic how those baby “peeps” had so much to chirp about in class. I on the other hand, ran out of words to say before my presentation time was finished.

Consequently, I did learn a valuable lesson. It is very important to critique the timing of a speech before  presenting it. This lack of attention cost me a few points. That’s okay, I realize this was my first attempt at preparing a speech and I still have a lot to learn. I hope this will be helpful advise to other beginners organizing their first speech.  Also, try to relax up in front of the classroom and have fun. We are all in this together!

Julie

Entry filed under: By Julie G., Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics, Uncategorized.

My First Speech Green Eggs and Ham

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. mark  |  June 2, 2011 at 2:04 am

    i don’t think i could have done this class without your help julie. you are my ears and i want to thank you for being patient with me and helping me along the way. i’ll never forget when you put me in charge of watching over the baby chicks. even a guy like me has to admit they are cute

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,535 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

