Take Some Water If Needed

May 3, 2011 at 7:08 pm 2 comments

First off I want to say sorry I’m late Candee. Good news is I have the paper now so I’m getting back on track.

On a completely different note I have completed my first speech. Like most people I was excited to get the first speech over with. Unlike most people I wasn’t too nervous. My mom is a music teacher/singer and my dad is a politician so they have always done everything they can to introduce me to the spotlight. In other words speech class isn’t my first rodeo. I’ve sung in my church, had leads in plays, sang the national anthem at my school, and even gave a mini sermon to my church.

All these things have led me to give everyone some hope. It DOES get easier. I am nowhere near perfect, but I can say with confidence that it does get a whole heck of a lot easier. Now its going to take a lot longer than I’ve been doing it to be 100% comfortable with speaking, if that’s even possible. One thing that still bothers me to this day is my throat. I will be fine and calm untill right before I’m about to go up then my throat will get very dry.

For those of you that are like me, it is ok to take a water bottle up with you. If I could have found enough change for a water bottle then I would’ve had one on my first speech. Even if you don’t think you will need it go ahead and take it anyway. Trust me when I tell you that it is better to have it and not use it than to not have it and need it. That is my big helpful advice for the class so far.

Casey

Entry filed under: by Casey, confidence & public speaking, Experience & public speaking, Public Reading, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Green Eggs and Ham My first speech – “A Letter to My Birth Father”

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. k9vol  |  May 3, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    Casey,
    Thanks for the advice. I will take water with me next time. My mouth and lips get dry and my upper lip got caught on my braces during the first speech I gave. I think the water might be a big help.

    Pam

    Reply
  • 2. Blake tolle  |  June 7, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    casey you did great everytime

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,770 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

