The Act of Listening

May 5, 2011 at 8:27 am 3 comments

Last night I completed my second speech (the informative speech).  The topic of my choice was what my father taught me through the unusual vessel of Alzheimer’s disease.

The main points discussed were creativity, unconditional love and patience.

It was less stressful than the first speech.  Everyone was so kind.  There were still errors in my delivery, I could not find my card with the closing statement (it was right in front of me), and I caught myself leaning on the podium at one point; nonetheless, I was able to complete my speech and things seemed to go fairly well.

I just can’t get the faces of the audience (my classmates) out of my mind.  It felt as though they were opening their hearts and minds to hear what I had to say, and it was a very humbling experience.  As I was delivering my speech, their eyes were so expressive and the body language changed for several of them.

I am still processing and struggling to find the words to describe my experience.   One thing I know for sure is that if my speech was to be considered successful, it was not because of me.  It was because of my supporting classmates, there are none better.

Pamela B

Entry filed under: By Pam, Experience & public speaking, Group Communication, informative speech, Listening, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Evaluation, Reflecting on Experience, storytelling, Uncategorized.

Reading Dr. Suess It’s Over and Gone with the Wind….

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. fawley10  |  May 6, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    Wow.. I couldn’t even tell you had stumbled during your speech. It was so good!

    Reply
    • 2. k9vol  |  May 8, 2011 at 6:27 pm

      Thanks for the kind words. I shared with Troy that when I went back to my seat I had planned to call my sister, Sharon, when I got home to tell her it was a failure. I was frustrated about several issues, but Troy was such a huge encouragement. I took time to reflect and realized that all of you were carrying me through that speech. You were so responsive, it really moved me. I don’t think all of you know just how much I depend on you to get through these speeches.

      From the bottom of my heart, thank you and God bless! Pamela Burton

      Reply
  • 3. ruthpinkee  |  May 12, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    Pam, your speech was really great. I do not know why you would think it was a failure. I also realllllly appreciate your speech because it was very uplifting. You were very good at delivering your speech and relating to the audience. I agree with fawley10, I would have never known.

    Mary

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,687 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

