Are You My Mother?

May 8, 2011 at 10:11 pm Leave a comment

Although my first speech was simply a reading and consisted of reading a children’s book, it still took a lot to get over the nerves and to get up there and read it without sound scared to death! I chose to read Are You My Mother? In my opinion I couldn’t have picked a better book, simply because of what the book means to me.

When I was younger my mom would read that book to me every night. I honestly don’t think there was a night that she didn’t read it. To me it symbolizes, security, warmth, and love. It makes me think of home and the relationship my mother and I have. Sometimes I would give anything to be home again laying in bed with mom beside me reading that book, being an adult is too hard sometimes! Thankfully my mother and I still have a great relationship, it’s actually stronger now that it has ever been. Partly due to the fact that I am an adult now and she can share her worries and feelings with me. I love having a relationship with my mom that is as open and strong as ours is. Too often kids feel like they can’t talk to their parents. For a girl to grow up without that relationship with their mom is really a shame. My momma has taught me so many things that no one else could have or even tried to. But at the same time, I see the things my mother has gone through and choices she has made and from those mistakes I can say I will never do those things, or I can say yeah, that’s how I’d do it. For that I am so thankful. I love my mommy!!! Haha!

Amanda

Entry filed under: By Amanda, Public Reading, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Now that my internet is finally working!!! Courageous Reflections

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,687 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

