Courageous Reflections

May 8, 2011 at 10:15 pm 5 comments

We are in the midst of our informative speeches.  I’m amazed  to see my fellow students getting up in front of everyone and sharing their stories.   From Randa, to Brittany, to the girl who had thyroid cancer, to the mom whose son has a blood disease, to a granddaughter’s sweet memory of her grandmother, and everyone else, the list goes on.  Each one of you got up with such composure and true conviction in your voice.  It took real courage to relive a part of your life that was very hard.  You reminded us  that there are those suffering for which we are not aware.  It  has encouraged  me to keep my eyes and  heart open to  hopefully see the child who may need help, or the mother who needs an extra prayer for herself or her son.  You are all overcomers, because you don’t let the past take away from your present or your future.  You did not blame anyone; you just shared your story in hopes that it will help others.  It took courage and determination to live what you did, and it took courage and determination to tell your story.  Thank you, I thought your speeches were inspiring and wonderful!

I cannot leave out the other speeches.  They were all very informative.  More importantly, they were all very enjoyable!  Clinton, you did a great job with a very different and interesting topic.  Ryan, you have a great attitude in life that will take you far.  The deer hunting speech informed us about things we really need to know and Seth’s soccer speech was great, with a well organized breakdown of the game and rules.  Brandon,  I learned things about paintball I never knew.  Jamie, your speech was very interesting and we all know what an Egyptian Maus is now.  Your cats (babies) are adorable.  Excellent speech.

I enjoyed all speeches; everyone did a great job.  It is so much more than just hearing someone’s words.  We are communicating and connecting with one another.

Patty

Entry filed under: By Patty, Finding Your Voice, informative speech, Meaning, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics, Uncategorized.

Are You My Mother? How to cope

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Randa  |  May 9, 2011 at 10:59 am

    Patty,
    I just wanted to thank you for the encouraging words. I am speaking for each one of us who have overcome horrible circumstances I am sure. My speech was truly from the heart. I love my Mother with all my heart and now as an adult I can see the pain that she really endured. I think your speech was awesome as well. You speak with such love in your voice and I know that you mean each word that comes from your mouth. Again thank you.

    Reply
  • 2. d0tz8806  |  May 10, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    Patty I love how you reflected on everyone speeches and everytime I read this post it brings me back to each and everyone speeches. I love the last part Randa said about how you speak. I have enjoyed class with you hard to believe we are almost a month away from it being over.

    Dottie

    Reply
  • 3. brittnr2011  |  May 12, 2011 at 12:06 am

    Thank you Patty and it was very hard to get up and tell my story! You seem like your a wonderful mother and hope you celebrated your daughters graduation wonderfully! Your speech was so moving I just wish I could have had a mother like you!!

    Brittany

    Reply
    • 4. pkfoote  |  May 12, 2011 at 8:51 am

      Thank you Brittany for the comment – that is probably one of the sweetest things that anyone has ever said to me – believe me, I wasn’t a perfect mother; my daughters can tell you that (ha, ha). We learn as we get older and we all think of things we would have done differently; I certainly have.
      You have such a positive outlook toward life; you are very young and your whole life is ahead of you. You are refusing to let your past define who you are. What we go through in life makes us stronger and we can determine to make it work for us, or against us – you have chosen to make it work for you. We can embrace the lessons we learn, when we suffer, to build the foundation of our character, which is under construction our whole life. You are already one of strong character, and will do a lot to inspire and help others along your journey of life. I admire your courage to get up and tell your story; and you did it with such composure! Not only was your speech inspiring, but you are an inspiration! Keep looking ahead, your future is bright!

      Reply
  • 5. tnhmom05  |  May 12, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    I completely agree with you on everyones speeches. Everyone does a great job and the class is very respecting and supportive.
    -Ashley

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,519 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

