It’s Over and Gone with the Wind….

May 8, 2011 at 8:55 am 2 comments

My informative speech was a disaster and after listening to everyone else speak I knew it was going to be an even larger  failure than what I had  imagined. I couldn’t top any of those speeches.

Everyone’s speeches were amazing and possessed a part of them! (To their reason for the speech or just their personality that shined through in the details). I think that thought alone may have made me  a little nervous.

Talking about Gone With the Wind  was my first idea for a speech but it wasn’t what I had planned to give my speech on. I had planned on a speech about a band. I had imagined the entire speech, planned the visual aid… but the day I started on this my computer had crashed and it was my computer that had all my info and tools I needed to make that speech.

So I had my first idea, my ‘backup’ speech, and that was what I had ‘presented’ to Ms. Basford.

And you know the rest…

Maybe my speech was a failure because I felt like I could have done better, but I can’t worry about that. It’s over and now I can only hope my next idea for a speech won’t be ruined (fingers crossed).

Sabrina

Entry filed under: By Sabrina, Experience & public speaking, informative speech, public speaking, Public Speaking Evaluation, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

The Act of Listening Now that my internet is finally working!!!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ruthpinkee  |  May 12, 2011 at 12:31 pm

    Sabrina, I can’t believe you thought your speech was a failure, it definitely wasn’t!! You did a good job especially if you were going to do it on something else. I think even when people do a great job, they always feel they could have done better.

    Mary

    Reply
  • 2. gray6533  |  May 24, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    Sabrina, I think you were too hard on yourself. I love that movie and you told me things about it that I did’t know. That makes your informative speech a success! I especially liked how you told us the personal reasons why you liked the move so much.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,687 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

