Phew!…..Wait, that wasn’t so bad.

May 10, 2011 at 4:35 pm 3 comments

OK, so Tuesday’s speech went so much better than I had thought! I was sick to my stomach after waking up that morning. I thought,  “I gotta put this off, I gotta put this off.” I felt so unprepared and was sure I would make a complete fool of myself once I was up there. Yeah my topic was on Star Wars and Star Wars was something I’ve grown up with my whole life. I know it inside and out (basically).

One of my first fears before organizing my speech was that I would go over people’s heads. I was afraid the topic would go over heads and come across as totally geeky. If it hadn’t been for my meeting with Mrs. Basford the Tuesday prior, then I know I would’ve gone over some heads. She pointed out that what I had planned would go over someone’s head if they had never seen a Star Wars movie before.

So I went home that day and considered how to deliver it in a way that would explain the core of star wars and just leave out all the technical talk. I believe that the speech went well and I’m pretty sure it didn’t go over anyone’s head. Once I got up there I was still very nervous, but it turned out that I actually enjoyed talking to my fellow classmates. I enjoyed looking them in the eyes and informing them on a topic that I found fascinating. I can’t speak for them and say they enjoyed it as much as I did. I did get  positive responsive  from the feedback slips and those are the best encouragements!

Looking back now, if I could change anything I did, I would change all the worry and stress I had before giving the speech. I don’t know if I’ve found my voice yet, but I think I’m getting close!

Gideon Meyer

Entry filed under: By Gideon, Fear & public speaking, informative speech, public speaking, Public Speaking Evaluation, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics, Uncategorized.

How to cope Two down, two to go

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. zieg7785  |  May 10, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    I loved your speech and you did a good job. Though, I personally do not care for Star Wars, you made me understand why people love the movies. And yes over the weekend I did watch one, so your speech was successful.

    Hannah

    Reply
    • 2. gmeyer10  |  May 12, 2011 at 9:24 am

      Thanks Hannah! Which episode was it?

      Reply
  • 3. moroni15  |  May 11, 2011 at 2:34 am

    Gideon, I think you are finding your voice, you came across very confident and calm with your star wars speech. You said you were very nervous, but you hide it well and I think that is a key to being a good public speaker. I believe everyone is nervous, but those who are able to perform as though they are’nt make the best speakers. Keep up the good work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 169,079 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

