Two down, two to go

May 11, 2011 at 7:37 am 2 comments

Last week most of the class tackled their second speech. However, this speech actually had to be memorized for the most part and we had to write it ourselves, unlike the books, poems, etc. that we read for our first speech. I wasn’t really nervous before I gave my speech but the second I started talking I got very nervous for some reason and I’m sure it was obvious because I could hear it in my voice. I didn’t have anything to be worried about but I think the reason I was so much more nervous during this speech than I was my last one is because this speech was much easier to lose my train of thought and more difficult to pick up where I left off. Everyone else that went last week did an awesome job. Hardly any of them sounded nervous at all and I envy them for that! 😉 I think another reason I was nervous is because everyone that had gone before me did so good and that made it more nerve- wracking for me. There are always people in the class that give very touching and inspirational speeches and I really enjoy those. My speech last week was about Kamp Dovetail and on our response sheets that we get back from each student, someone told me that they want to get involved in Kamp Dovetail and they would like their daughter too as well. Even if I get just one person to start volunteering there then that makes my speech about Kamp Dovetail well worth my time. Kamp Dovetail is such a great place to be involved at and I encourage everyone to try and be a part of such a great cause!

Julie

Entry filed under: By Julie, informative speech, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics, Uncategorized.

Phew!…..Wait, that wasn’t so bad. Informative speech!!! WOW!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. gmeyer10  |  May 12, 2011 at 9:19 am

    Julie, I think you did a very good job on it. it doesn’t matter how nevrous you thought you were, because you got your messege across and that was the point 🙂 I was really interrested in Kamp Dovetail and I never knew it was so close! I worked at a summer camp a couple years ago and it was the best summer of my life. I want to talk to my church youth group about it to see if we could work there next year. thanks and good luck this summer!

    -Gideon

    Reply
  • 2. rbeasley02  |  May 12, 2011 at 2:09 pm

    You did great. Your topic was awesome and those kids are blessed to have people like you to help them out. Its hard not to be nervous but you didnt appear to be. Keep up the good work!

    -Ryan

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,519 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

