All is right with speech

May 12, 2011 at 11:30 am 1 comment

Wow! I cannot believe how easy it was after I got started. I still cannot remember everything I said. And it was over pretty quickly. Unbelievable! My topic was something I truly love. My cats are wonderful and quite different from other cats. After I got started I could of probably spoken all day. I’ve had the joy of my Egyptian Maus for years. And they continue to surprise me.

There were so many wonderful speeches in class. It was so obvious that my classmates enjoyed their subjects, much like me. From Gideon’s speech about Star Wars to the two speeches about hunting. It was educational. Patty’s speech and Mark’s speech stand out in my mind the most. Patty’s speech on the origin of Mother’s Day was well timed and informative. Mother’s Day has always been special to me. I don’t believe Moms get enough credit. When she announced the white carnations were for me in remembrance of my mother I could not help but shed a few tears. Mark’s speech was very well delivered and I could tell he truly believed in his topic. He chose to help a long tradition of assisting wayward youths. He was inspiring. I would have never guessed housewives began it. Amazing!

Mostly, I was amazed at all the survivors in our class. How much so many have been through. The grasp of understanding and the horrible experience so many of them have endured seems unthinkable since they are all so young.

Overall, all the speeches were well delivered and very informative. They were a great learning experience. The techniques I learned in the beginning have become invaluable to me. Especially the squeezing of my hands to release pent up energy. I believe I am ready for my next speech. Yay!

Speech giving has become an enjoyment. Thanks Candee you’re a terrific teacher. Thank you for making it easy for me to learn and thank you classmates for listening and making me comfortable. 🙂

Jamie

Entry filed under: By Jamie, confidence & public speaking, Group Communication, informative speech, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Speech Topics, Uncategorized.

What is Anna’s Army? Room to grow

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Brandon  |  May 16, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    you did well, your cats are something you enjoy and it is never a bad thing to learn more about something you like.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 169,079 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

