Trying to Get it Right

May 12, 2011 at 7:16 pm 3 comments

Besides the fact that I left out one of  my points and the conclusion in my informative speech, it actually went pretty well.  I practiced my speech ahead of time and I kept messing up just while practicing.  I thought to myself How am I supposed to get this right, in front of people, when I can’t even get it in a room by myself?  So I practiced more and I ended up getting it.  When I gave the speech in front of the class I tried to remain calm and not to appear nervous.  For some reason my speech ended up working out even though I feel I could have done better.  I could have done a better job making eye contact with everyone in the room because someone wrote on the comment sheet to not just look at him the whole time.  Also, since I ended with playing the dulcimer I ended up leaving out the conclusion, so next time I will hopefully make sure to conclude.  But I was glad that people learned about the dulcimer from my speech because most people didn’t even know what it was.

I really enjoyed everyone’s informative speeches.  Everyone did a good job and the topics were very interesting.  Just like with the reading speeches, it was cool to see what topic everyone would choose, but this time we had to write the speech ourselves.  Everyone seemed to do a good job at constructing their speech and at delivering them.

Mary Johnson

Entry filed under: By Mary, informative speech, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics, Uncategorized.

Selecting A Topic Follow Up Not as planned

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. k9vol  |  May 12, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    Mary,

    I thought you did a wonderful job. I was so interested in what you had to say that I did not even notice there was no conclusion.

    I understand what you mean when you mentioned things about your own speech that you were not satisfied with. I went through the same self criticism.

    Truth is, I don’t think speech is about perfection–nobody is perfect. For me, as a listener, I am most interested in what you have to share.

    I, for one, can’t wait to hear your demonstrative speech. :^)

    Reply
  • 2. Alicia  |  May 19, 2011 at 2:25 pm

    Mary, you did awesome 🙂 and I dont even think anyone noticed that you left one of your main points out, or the conclusion. Actually I think watching you play the dulcimer is more entertaining then an actual conclusion. 😉

    Reply
  • 3. fawley10  |  May 21, 2011 at 1:20 am

    Your speech was wonderful. Everyone’s speeches always seem so well put together. I have to agree, I couldn’t even tell you left part of your speech out (conclusion). Amazing speech- like always!

    -Sabrina

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 167,529 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

