“Coming together, sharing together, working together, succeeding together” (author unknown)

May 16, 2011 at 6:35 pm 5 comments

As I reflect upon my experience in Speech class, this quote sums up how I feel.

We have formed a very supportive unit during this quarter.    As we went through the introduction process, we all had varied explanations as to why we were taking Speech.  Some were excited about the class while others were apprehensive.

As the weeks went by and we began to deliver our individual speeches, we learned that listening was just as important as delivering the speeches.  From what I read in the posts of others, it seems the majority agrees that the atmosphere is one that is safe and accepting.  Some expressed concerns as to how their speeches would be received and afterwards discovered thru the evaluations that what they had to say was embraced (ability to listen without pre-judgment and be open-minded).  All seemed to agree that their classmates were supportive.

I have learned thru researching one of my own speeches that when we give a genuine smile to others, it sends a non-verbal message to the recipient that they are accepted, and they fit in.   I found this to be true for me when I was on the receiving end of my classmates’ smiles.  I think this is part of what Candee was trying to get across when she was talking about our responsibilities as listeners.

In the classroom before class begins you might hear us supporting and encouraging each other.  Sometimes we try to help each other come up with an idea for a speech.  Sometimes we share experiences, thoughts and reservations about upcoming assignments.  Sometimes we just socialize.  No matter what the conversations are, they are friendly and engaging.  To me, this is speech at its best:  relating to each other, communicating, sharing.  The bonus is that it is all in a safe and positive atmosphere.

As this class draws nearer the end.  We are all delivering speeches and we are all “succeeding together”.

“Coming together, sharing together, working together, succeeding together.”

Pamela B.

Entry filed under: By Pam, Experience & public speaking, Finding Your Voice, Group Communication, Listening, My Voice, public speaking, Public Speaking Delivery, Public Speaking Tips, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics, Uncategorized.

Almost there….Graduation is Around the Corner Knitting

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ruthpinkee  |  May 17, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    Pam,
    I completely agree with you. Our class is all about coming, sharing, working, and succeeding together. It is great having others listen and support you and the conversations we have before and after class are great. Starting from the first day, Mrs. Basford has brought everyone in the class together, and now we learn and are encouraged by each other.

    Mary

    Reply
  • 2. Alicia  |  May 19, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    Pam, I realized the same thing the other day about how supportive everyone is. It really is a great feeling knowing how supportive and encouraging everyone is.I feel more and more comfortable every time I get up to do a speech knowing how my classmates are as nervous as I am and how friendly every person is.

    Reply
  • 3. ecollier2010  |  May 19, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    Pam

    I feel that you made a lot of really good and helpful points in this blog. I agree 100% that this class is a safe and positive envirnment that everyone enjoys being in. From the time we started class it always seemed to me that you’ve always been the positive and supportive type which is a good thing to have. It is the classmates like you that give me courage to go up to the podium and give my speech, no matter how rediculous it may be. Thanks.

    -Eric

    Reply
    • 4. k9vol  |  May 20, 2011 at 8:55 am

      Eric,

      Thanks. Please understand, it is I that have been encouraged by you. Pamela Burton

      Reply
  • 5. fawley10  |  May 21, 2011 at 1:13 am

    I agree. I love this class. Everyone is so accepting it is shocking. You very rarely find something like that. I’m so glad everyone is so supportive it makes giving speeches that much easier.

    -Sabrina

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 164,535 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

