Informative Speech: Texting and Driving

May 18, 2011 at 9:55 am 2 comments

I hope every one learned about the harmful effects of texting while driving. It is a serious issue in today’s society. It took a lot to share my experience.. It was very scary and I don’t want anyone to have to go through it. I wish people would understand the horrible effects that texting behind the wheel causes before they learn the hard way.  This speech was not only targeting teenagers  but adults as well because they text as often as teens do.

There is an organization called RAB which stands for Remembering Alex Brown. She was killed because of texting while driving and her family then traveled around schools to talk about texting while driving as well as showing all the kids Alex’s truck which was smashed to pieces. This aired on the reality show Extreme Makeover. They have a contract on the web site that states you will never text behind the wheel. They hand out little thumb rings and every time you go to text it reminds you to not text and drive.

I encourage people to do this. It could save your life. No text message is worth risking your life. This speech was difficult for me. I was very nervous because it was my first one. I feel like I rushed a lot and I know that I left out a lot of information. I get very anxious and I just want to get it over with. I know this is the wrong way to approach a speech. I hope that my next one goes a lot better because I now know what not to do and what to do thanks to my helpful classmates. I want to say thank you for your help and support!

Courtney

Entry filed under: By Courtney, informative speech, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Speech Topics, Uncategorized.

Knitting That’s How The Cookie Crumbles

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mark  |  May 18, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    Courtney, you were very brave in presenting this in front of class and it shows you have courage to achieve what you believe in. Your message was one that needs to be heard, and heard often as to not forget. You presented it very well and I think it made everyone take stock in their own driving habits. I just want to say great job and keep on being courageous for what you beleve in.

    Mark,

    Reply
  • 2. pkfoote  |  May 25, 2011 at 9:35 pm

    Courtney, your texting and driving speech gave us a hard reminder of what can happen when we text and drive. We all hear it and think it won’t happen to us or those we know, but it does. I reminded my daughter that night not to text and drive and told her about the video and the reality of it. Even though the scenes weren’t pleasant, it’s a must to view and present to others to save lives. Your efforts will make a difference; and I’m sure you will save lives as you speak out on this subject. Well done and keep speaking out. Thank you.

    Patty

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 166,714 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

