Clock is Winding Down ~ bittersweet ~

May 25, 2011 at 9:07 am 5 comments

We are now finishing up our demonstration speeches with one  more group to go.  As I look back to the first of April, we have all come a long way.  What I once was a little apprehensive about, I now look forward to.  We have learned a lot together as a class and as a group of people.  Although we were  together for just a short time, we made connections and listened to words spoken by each other that will stay with us for a long time.

We have our persuasive speech to go and I am honestly looking forward to hearing each and every one.  Everyone in the class has been great and all speeches have been interesting; some were exceptional and thought provoking.  We have all gained confidence; not only in our ability to  give a speech, but confidence in who we are.  It has been a positive thing to hear everyone’s stories.  Our time together is winding down, but we will remember each other and all of our memorable speeches.  We have all made a difference with our words in one way or another.  We are all in this together and that saying reaches far beyond the classroom.

Patty

Entry filed under: By Patty, Meaning, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

A slice of pie Maiden Voyage of the USS Contemplation

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. julieshafer  |  May 26, 2011 at 12:06 am

    Patty, I agree with everything you just said. It is all so true. We have all gained a lot from this class and without the support of eachother and Candee we wouldn’t have made it this far! I have enjoyed all of your speeches and your demonstrative speech has given me the urge to re-decorate my room. I already went out and bought a new comforter after hearing your speech because I wanted to make a change in my room and that was an easy one to make! 😀 Good luck on your persuasive speech for I know you will do exceptionally well!

    Reply
    • 2. pkfoote  |  May 26, 2011 at 9:42 am

      Hi Julie, I also enjoyed your demonstration speech – never knew the history of the chocolate chip cookie. I also got inspired to eat some chocolate chip cookies. You notice I said eat, not make; I skipped a step. I bought the Betty Crocker ready to go in the oven. They are all natural with no preservatives, at least that’s what the package says. I think they are called “Simple”, found in the refrigerated aisle. They are a good substitute if you don’t make from scratch. I ate all 12 in two days; but ever since your speech, had to have those chocolate chip cookies! They were not as good as yours, of course. Yours were scrumptious!

      Reply
  • 3. tnhmom05  |  May 26, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    I agree also. This class has been wonderful and has deffinetly made me realize that I can speak up and that I do have something to say. We all have something important to say and we are all worth hearing. Our class is wonderful!
    -Ashley

    Reply
  • 4. vashtione  |  June 6, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    Patty, You are truly a great person. I’m so glad we were in class together. Thanks for all your words of encouragement, love, and happiness. I will remember you always when I look at a flower. Good luck and thanks again.
    Tina

    Reply
    • 5. pkfoote  |  June 6, 2011 at 4:50 pm

      Tina, thanks for the kind words. I have enjoyed getting to know a bit about everyone. You are a strong person; and after what you have been through, your walk will be easier. You will never have to go through that again. Don’t look back – you made it! I will miss everyone and so glad I was in this speech class. Patty

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 165,223 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

