Connecting With the Audience Through Your Own Personal Story.

May 30, 2011 at 3:40 pm 9 comments

Hey,

This is my visual reflection.  In this class I learned the importance of  eye contact,proper hand gestures, incorporating pauses, and so many different things to help improve my delivery.  Another important thing I learned was to connect with the audience by using these delivery methods.  A big part of connecting to the audience is picking a speech that is important to you.  When the audience sees that the topic is so important to you, then they become interested in the topic as well.  If you are doing a speech that means nothing to you and if you express no emotion, then the audience will not be interested either.  A big part of getting the audience interesting is telling your own personal story.  Throughout the class it was very interesting to hear the personal side of each person’s speech.  It was great to learn all the facts about a certain topic, but knowing how that related to the person giving the speech is what made the speech even better.  When you make eye contact with the audience you also connect with them.  For my visual reflection, I cut out foam rectangles and tied them together with pipe cleaners. I drew an eye on one rectangle to represent connecting with the audience through eye contact.  I also put hands on my visual reflection to represent hand gestures.  Each rectangle is an individual, yet each of them are connected to each other.  On the back I had each person in the class sign a rectangle.  So my visual reflection also represents our class.  I feel like each of us were in this together and we created bonds with one another in the class.

This class has taught me a lot, but I will always remember some of the wonderful  memories from the bonds that were created by public speaking.

Mary Johnson

Entry filed under: By Mary, Finding Your Voice, public speaking, Reflecting on Experience, Uncategorized.

Our Voices… I Need Your Help…Please

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pamela B.  |  May 30, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    Love the visual! I agree with what you said about the bonds created in this class. I am so glad we were all able to take this class with Candee leading the way. I think it will prove to be my favorite class of all.

    Pamela B.

    Reply
  • 2. fawley10  |  May 30, 2011 at 9:58 pm

    Very creative and cute visual. I like how you made a visual of how we have bonded.

    Reply
  • 3. diminutivepixy32  |  May 31, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    Wonderful creativity! I was absent the day of the visual reflections but I’ve read your blog and seen your creative piece. I absolutely agree we’re supporting each other. And yours, WOW! This class has been alot of fun and I too am glad for Candee… It will be a shame when she leaves.

    Reply
  • 4. dbeachler77  |  June 1, 2011 at 1:18 am

    Mary you are such a creative person, you truly have a gift. Keep on doing what you do because your gift is the goodness in all that you do. Thank you

    Reply
  • 5. mark  |  June 2, 2011 at 1:56 am

    I really liked this. It enabled everybody in class to teir own special signature. i have to admit that this has definately been the funnest class i’ve had this quarter

    Reply
  • 6. boon9492  |  June 2, 2011 at 3:59 pm

    Mary,

    I loved everyone’s visual, expectially yours. I can tell you took the time to really think and be creative with it. You and Casey crack me up and I had fun getting to know you guys along with everyone else in the class. Thanks for letting us put our names on it too, it gave it that special something. Have a really good summer, thanks for sharing!

    Erin

    Reply
  • 7. ruthpinkee  |  June 7, 2011 at 10:39 am

    Thanks everyone. Yes Mark, I agree this was the funnest class I’ve had this quarter. Erin, I am really glad to have met you and everyone in this speech class.

    Mary

    Reply
  • 8. Blake tolle  |  June 7, 2011 at 2:45 pm

    mary this was a pretty awesome idea you had and it was nice to get to know you and everyone in the class its sad to see it end

    Reply
  • 9. gray6533  |  June 8, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    Mary, I really like your idea for the visual reflection. I also think you’re a bright young lady for getting a head start on your college education! I really admire your hard working ethics. Your future is bright.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Student Blog

This blog is the collective work of students enrolled in the Fundamentals of Effective Speech Class at Southern State Community College South Campus. We invite you to add your voice to the conversation. Just click the "add comment' button to share your ideas and suggestions.

Blog Stats

  • 169,063 hits

Important

If you see your image, link, name, etc. on this blog and don't want it here, please contact us and it will be removed immediately.

